The Choir, the Violinist and True Love in Sweden

Sometimes my job can be simply magical. Maybe it is something to do with the music, or maybe it is the ambiance generated by the performance. Or maybe life is full of magic, and I have simply been lucky to see it from a different perspective to most.

Last November Anúna gave two very special performances in Sweden. We have only performed once in Stockholm, so I was anxious to sing there again [our last visit being in 1996]. This time we had a very special friend with us, the violinist Linda Lampenius. She looked radiant and played beautifully, as always. The next night was Annedalkyrka, Gothenburg one of my favourite places to perform in the world.

Anúna perform with Linda Lampenius (violin), Sofia Kyrka, Stockholm [pic. A.McGlynn]

Linda Lampenius [pic. Tommy Wiberg]

In October a young man by the name of Kristian wrote to me to ask me for a favour. I’m usually not great at deviating off the focus of a performance I have to admit, but this was a very special request for a special person.

The performance was technically so complex that I had put Kristian far to the back of my mind so, as I read down the programme, I noticed that there was one odd piece on it. Suddenly all that occupied my mind was Kristian… the song was “The Flower of Maherally”, one I don’t sing very often anymore, but I had been asked for a special love song.

You see, Kristian wanted to propose to his girlfriend Marijune who was visiting from the USA. He has been a long-time fan of Anúna and he wanted to ask her to marry him on the stage just after we sang a love song that was dedicated to her. I can describe it, but I think that all you need to do is look at Tommy Wiberg’s images below. They capture the moment in a way that words simply can’t.

Kristian and Marijune

That special moment…

Needless to say, the concert and the tour ended on a huge high for all of us.

My short story ends with a postscript. I received the photos only on Saturday last, and wrote to Kristian to see if he would mind me posting a note about his proposal. It turned out that he was actually in the USA and that tomorrow, Tuesday April 3rd, Kristian and Marijune will become Mr and Mrs Lejsund. Long life and happiness to you both. Thank you for including us in this wonderful moment of your lives. Have a fantastic day…

3 thoughts on “The Choir, the Violinist and True Love in Sweden

  1. That is absolutely Awesome, and I have to say- very, very, awesome of you to help make it possible.

  2. Such a beautiful story. There’s something about taking part in a moment like that that never leaves you.

  3. Lovely story, Michael. There is something life affirming about being part of a moment like that in someone else’s life. It’s like you both come away feeling blessed.

Leave a Reply

